CEDAR BLUFFS – Cedar Bluffs High School held graduation ceremonies on Saturday afternoon and 19 members of the Class of 2019 walked across the stage.

Valedictorian Sarah Rhoads spoke during commencement, as did Salutatorian Piper Rasmussen. Honored commencement speaker was Cedar Bluffs High School Teacher Greg Brousek.

Twelve of the graduates received scholarships. Those receiving scholarships were:

Vanessa Bridgeford, Saunders County Independent Bankers Association;

Alexis Galusha, Louetzenheiser Scholarship and Nebraska Opportunity Grant;

Victoria Garcia, Northwestern Academic Achievement Scholarship and Northwestern Theatre Production Scholarship;

Nathaniel Guerrero, Wildcat Spirit Scholarship;

Destani Knapp, Ringland Scholarship, Jackson Spirit Academic Award, Samuel Alexander Scholarship, Art Talent Scholarship, Hastings College Scholarship and Nebraska Opportunity Grant;

Kayden Peters, Xenon Academy Travel Scholarship;

Piper Rasmussen, Pinnacle Bank Outstanding Leader Award Scholarship, Midland University Campus Visit Scholarship, Runza Student of the Week Scholarship, Northwest Missouri State University Scholarship, Northwest Missouri State University Green and White Advantage Scholarship, Northwest Missouri State Adopt a Bearcat Scholarship, Nebraska Auctioneers Association Scholarship, Cedar Bluffs Education Foundation Scholarship, Cedar Bluffs Merchants Scholarship and Sons of American Legion John Maly Scholarship;

Sarah Rhoads, Pinnacle Bank Outstanding Leader Award Scholarship, Nebraska Wesleyan Scholarship, Alfred and Esther Eggerling Midland University Scholarship, Cedar Bluffs Alumni Scholarship, Cedar Bluffs Auxiliary Scholarship, Eastern Star Scholarship and Cedar Bluffs Education Association;

Megan Schollmeyer, Wildcat Pride Scholarship;

Lane Siems, Midland Athletic Scholarship, Nebraska Opportunity Grant;

Kaitlyn Slider, Southeast Community College Scholarship; and

Jadyn Vacha, Doane Community Scholarship and Doane Women’s Basketball Scholarship.

Other graduates were Nolan Cozad, Sebastian Eliaason, Marissa Nelson, Becca Reiss, Taylor Walls and Neligh Yurk.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.