LINCOLN – The Nebraska Bankers Association (NBA) recently announced the 2020 scholarship recipients of the Nebraska Bankers Educational Foundation (NBEF) William B. Brandt Memorial Scholarship Program. Ten $2,000 scholarships have been awarded through this statewide program to assist students pursuing business-related degrees at state or private funded college or university in Nebraska.

Two area students received scholarships. Kennedy Heimes, of Murdock, a student at Nebraska Wesleyan University, was nominated by Jason L. Hansen, American National Bank, Omaha. Madison Stover of Waverly, a student at Nebraska Wesleyan University, was nominated by Michael L. Eden, First Northeast, Ceresco.

These scholarships have been awarded in memory of William B. Brandt, a longtime friend of the Nebraska banking industry. Brandt was a banker, state senator and NBA general counsel.

To be eligible, students interested in applying for an NBEF scholarship must reach a college junior- or senior-level status for the respective award year, maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.0 and must be pursuing a business-related degree at a state or privately funded Nebraska college or university (excluding University of Nebraska campuses).

Students, parents and educators can learn more about the scholarships by contacting the NBA at 402-474-1555 or Information is also available under ‘Workforce’ at The deadline to submit applications for the 2021-2022 academic school year is Jan. 31, 2021.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.